Hello world!

My name is Mark and I’m the new blogger on the block. I started this blog in order to share my thoughts on a number of things all related to my faith as a Christian. The name of this blog “The Church Essential” expresses the fact that I am very interested in the nature of the Christian church. The phrase “The Church Essential” is a quotation from John Owen’s treatise on the doctrine of the church. I chose it for the simple reason that Owen’s doctrine of the church is that which expresses my own conviction on this matter.

I chose this phrase as the title for my blog because it is my opinion that the church in America is in deep decline for many reasons. I hope that it will be used to call attention to this problem, by pointing out a multitude of reasons that account for it. My focus will be on what constitutes the church of Jesus Christ according to Scripture.

This is not one of those so-called discernment blogs. I find that though many of these denounce certain heretics and their movements, which is fine, most of these are at some level of error themselves. I also have no interest in engaging in letter writing campaigns with people who don’t agree with me nitpicking over contentious points. I find that these discernment blogs often do this very thing so that you have to follow endlessly to see where the posts go in order to understand the dialogue taking place. I don’t pay much attention to the cultists either. I don’t think that they are the greatest threat to the church. What I see as the greatest threat to the church is error within, error in doctrine and practice by professing Christians.

I will be forthcoming with my personal testimony of salvation by Gods grace in Jesus Christ. Anyone who reads what I put on this blog will know in good time exactly where I stand on just about everything to do with the Christian faith.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Mr WordPress  On October 28, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

